Calgary Districts & Community Guide

Why is Calgary Divided Into Districts?

Being able to distinguish certain parts of town from the other is a critical component to finding a home you want in a location that also fits all your lifestyle demands. And although the City of Calgary has devised a list of community names and districts that help shape these boundaries, the Calgary Real Estate Board (CREB®) hasn’t always aligned its data with such specifications.

Enter significant changes made in 2016.

Effective January 5th, CREB® has re-aligned the MLS® system to provide clarity and consistency for all existing communities in Calgary, which coincide with what the city recognizes as well. For a closer look at specific changes made or how the 8 new districts are defined, continue reading below, or check out the new CREB® community map below...

Calgary Districts

So what does this mean for both real estate agents and consumers alike?

Most notably, the 2016 Calgary community changes by CREB® will enable its members to access and provide more meaningful data as it relates to demographic information, expanded trend data, and market comparisons for key areas of Calgary.

The list of changes is actually fairly substantial, however, some of the major changes you might notice include the following:

  • All existing community names will be changed to match they’re recognized by the City of Calgary. Example - Saddleridge now becomes Saddle Ridge.
  • Newly developed community names will be added. Example - Royal Vista
  • Zones A, B, C, and D will become 8 districts: North; Northeast; East; Southeast; South; West; Northwest; City Centre.
  • “Estate” areas will be removed from the MLS® system, as they are not recognized by the City of Calgary. Example - Lake Bonavista Estates will now just be condensed into Lake Bonavista.
  • Commercial districts will be expanded to match city names.

Calgary Neighborhoods By District

While some communities remain the same in terms of name and district, others have minor changes in either name, location, or both. The new Calgary MLS® communities list is featured below and sorted by district.

City Centre District (CC)

Considering a new home, condo, or townhouse in Calgary's City Centre district? Check out what's available in City Centre neighbourhoods by clicking the links below:

North Calgary District (N)

Offering potential home buyers a nice central location just outside of downtown and City Centre, there's a lot to love about living in Calgary's North Calgary district. To begin searching what's available, narrow down your search by checking out what's available in some of the area's hottest communities to call home.

South Calgary District (S)

Aptly named the South district for it's south central location, South Calgary real estate ranges from high-end single-family homes to plenty of attached living spaces that are both affordable and functional. To see what's currently on the market in South Calgary, browse available MLS listings in any of the following neighbourhoods...

South East Calgary District (SE)

South East Calgary is one of the fastest growing parts of the city. If you're looking for a new home in Calgary's South East District, give us a call for assistance with your search, or start browsing some of the area's best neighbourhoods below...

East Calgary District (E)

What makes Calgary's East district a great place to call home, you ask? Combining a convenient location with affordability, it's easy to see the advantages of buying a home somewhere in East Calgary. But given it's not one of the city's largest communities, options here can sometimes be limited!

North East Calgary District (NE)

A convenient location for anybody who likes to travel, it's the close proximity to the Calgary International Airport that many potential home buyers like about the possibility of calling Calgary's North East district home. And given it's also one of the more affordable parts of the city, buying a home here for the frequent traveler truly is a win-win!